Birding and Hiking in Ollo Valley and San Donato Mountain

I did this hike in March 2013, taking advantage of one of the first sunny days after a winter that has not stopped raining and snowing for two months.

The hike is long but I have all day, so no hurry. I start walking from Iltzarbe. I entertain identifying some birds at the edges of the crops. Basically common stonechats also some yellowhammer and others I let it run.

In the forest greet me friendly robins, finches and chickadees. The great tit is one of my favorite birds. Not sure why, but it is.

Already halfway up, having left behind the houses, crops and oak forest, my attention gordotes a small group of birds on the edge of a pine forest. They are far, but I think the achievement see well. Hawfinches! What nice people. I have always drawn the attention these birds, and I really like his orange browns colours.

The rest of the way does not offer many new features in birding. Pipits plus chaffinches, and a few kites flying over the area. There are others emerging rapidly among the bushes and getting away without giving me any chance to identify them. Well, I’m full up, so it does not matter much.
The last section, on the plateau of the Sierra de San Donato is beautiful, and today is spectacular.

P1240436

P1240434

P1240444

P1240440

 

Responder

